DFD banquet 2015

Kevin Manzer, officer of the year
Captain Kevin Manzer, DFD Officer of the Year

The Digby Fire Department recognized the hard work and dedication of their members at their 2015 fire department banquet on Feb. 13.
“When you think of all the work that gets done through the year, it’s worth every cent to buy the guys a meal,” our deputy chief Justin Wood told the Digby Courier.

Jonathan Riley, firefighter of the year
DFD firefighter of the year Jonathan Riley

Kevin Manzer, Captain of Company 2, was named Officer of the year and Company 2 firefighter Jonathan Riley was named firefighter of the year. Both awards are voted on by the membership.Jim Gaunce, 35 years of serviceHarold Dugas, 35 years of service
Firefighters Jim Gaunce and Harold Dugas received their 35-year pins.

Ralph Cummings, 30 years of serviceRichard Robertson, 30 years of service

Firefighters Richard Robertson and Ralph Cummings were presented 30-year awards.

Captain Steve Savary Sr. received his 25-year award.

Lieutenant Steve Savary Jr. and firefighter Drew MacLean were recognized for 10 years of service.

Firefighter Jonathan Riley was recognized for 5 years of service.

RCMP Corp. Rob Lewis, guest speaker

RCMP Corp. Rob Lewis and his partner Colleen were the department’s guests for the evening. When Corporal Lewis approached the podium as guest speaker, he rolled out a long scroll and threatened to expound on the history of the fire hose starting in 1532. But thankfully did not.

Veterans in attendance included Charlie Ross, Bob Handspiker, Dudley Griffiths, Bob Lambie, Mayor Ben Cleveland, Jeff VanTassell, Peter Turnbull, Buddy Barr and Joe Currie.
Veterans February 2016

Clare Digby MLA Gordon Wilson, West Nova MP Colin Fraser, Mayor Ben Cleveland and Warden Linda Gregory were also the department’s honoured guests and helped with the presentations and awards.

Company three members Adam Sabean, Cpt. Adrien LeBlanc, Lt. Rick Sabean and Richard Robertson received their trophy for winning the 2015 Hose Laying Competition. Company 3 has won three of the last four years.

Company 3, 2015 Hose Laying Champs

Cribbage champ this year was Suellen Wood.
Crazy Eights champ was Ralph Cummings and Paul Dugas.
Curling winners were Skip Dawn Thomas, Rick Sabean, Angel Ryan and Margie Morgan.
The Old Guys won the baseball game.
Golf champs were Chief Robert Morgan, Lt. Rick Sabean and Bill LeBlanc.

The department presented Jeff VanTassell with the bell from the old Truck No 7, also known as “Vaughn” – the truck was designed by Jeff’s father, former chief Vaughn VanTassell.
Jeff VanTassell receives Bell from No. 7

Entertainment for the banquet was provided by Adam Sabean.

Margie and James played for the dance and a good time was had by all.

Much thanks to John DeMings, editor of the Digby Courier, for taking photos of the awards presentations.

Follow this link to see a complete collection of photos from the 2015 Digby Firefighters banquet.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s